Mondays

I believe in Mondays.

Monday marks a new beginning, much like the dropping of the ball on New Year’s Eve in Time Square, but not so dramatic or broadcasted. Although, I do think that if Mondays were celebrated, maybe everyone wouldn’t hate them so much. That’s the thing I don’t get; why does everyone dread Monday?

Each week I set out on a new goal. Two weeks ago it was: this week I’ll go to bed before eleven. And last weeks goal was: this week I’ll work out every day. And this week my goal is to be diligent, manage my time, and be present in every moment of class.

Monday is the day that I set my goal for the week. And each Monday I star over, brand new and fresh. The incompletion of my fitness goal last week is gone. I won’t dwell on the fact that I only went to the gym twice, and I wont give the thought incompletion one more ounce of my energy. I am going to forget that I walked in the wrong class on the first day of school and awkwardly smiled, hurried out, and slammed the door. I am going to forgive myself for the three triple chocolate brownies that I ate at dessert on Wednesday. And I am going to start fresh in my relationships with the people I value most, erasing my frustrations and dismissing the wrongdoing that we both have done in the past week.

Monday gives me a clean slate, a chance to be reborn in a sense. I take the previous week and keep the good and discard the bad. I keep the lessons that I learned and understand that what’s done is done. I treasure the memories and look forward to the week ahead.

Mondays come with much anticipation for me, who will I be, what will I accomplish, and how can I grow as a student, a sister, a daughter, a friend, and as an individual.

Today is Monday and I am new.

2 thoughts on “Mondays

  1. Hi Anna. If you are new on Mondays, how do you feel on Friday? Anyway, nice job. This is a nice balance of short tidbits about your life that are identifiable (trying to stick to work out routines, trying to forget awkward mistakes) and larger speculations about how you approach the world. This is a nice articulation of a philosophy that is engaging, funny but also serious and thoughtful. Good work. There are some punctuation issues early on here–re-think the way you discuss those goals in the second paragraph. Consider going without the colons. But all in all, solid start to the blog. Let me know if you have questions.

Leave a Reply

